Tags

The first book I am working on is based on the diary I kept during my back surgery and rehabilitation. I quickly realized that despite my research prior to the surgery there were many things I did not know about the entire process. I thought I asked a lot of questions before the surgery but many things came as a surprise, I just did not know enough to ask the right questions.

Before my surgery I asked my surgeon to speak to patients who had a similar procedure done. For privacy reasons it was difficult for the doctor to connect me with other patients. Eventually through the doctor and other friends I found a couple of people who were willing to share their experiences with me. The bits of information they shared were very helpful for getting ready. However their brief comments did not cover many aspects of the entire experience. This difficulty of finding information and the benefit of even a brief discussion with other patients was the inspiration for this book. There were a lot of small things along the way that I wish I knew ahead of time.

