Back pain is one of the most common reasons people visit a doctor.  About 85% suffer from is what doctors call “nonspecific low back pain.” that means the pain has no detectable cause — like a tumor, pinched nerve, infection, and so forth.

Chronic nonspecific back pain is difficult to treat. This article examines different approaches to treating this pain, the bottom line of it  that exercise not medical treatment might be the most effective weapon.

I am a back pain sufferer. My back did not fall into this “non-specific” category I had a herniated disk and had two surgeries dealing with it.  The first surgery was very effective until I re-herniated the same disk three years later.   The second surgery (fusion) corrected the pain, but did not return totally back to normal in a way that the doctors did not explain.  The upside that I am not in constant pain, the down side I had to re-invent my lifestyle and hobbies.  To read more about my experience see “Step by Step Back Surgery. A Recovery Guide: What your doctor can’t tell you” and to see what physical excercises I find most effective I invite you to read “Show Some Spine! The Most Effective Physical Therapy Exercises for a Strong Back”

 

